## Colorado Bowhunter of the Year Prestige and Confusion

The CBA Bowhunter of the Year Award is the most prestigious award presented by the Colorado Bowhunters Association, and may be the most misunderstood. Some of this could be due to the title as it could imply that the winner had a very successful hunting season. While bowhunting success is certainly a consideration; the award is really much, much more.

The sport of bowhunting depends on dedicated volunteers who are willing to strive to see it passed on in a positive light for future generations. The Bowhunter of the Year was first established in the early 70's to recognize an individual for service and leadership to the CBA. The Bowhunter of the Year was also to be a successful bowhunter. The past winners of the Bowhunter of the Year Award are premier examples of these dedicated individuals. This recognition is awarded annually to an individual member who has been selected from that year's nominees. Any member in good standing may nominate another for consideration. Previous winners of the award select the new winner each year after scoring all nominees against a defined list of criteria.

The criteria to be considered include:

- What the individual has contributed to bowhunting in Colorado.
- Effectiveness and accomplishments while serving bowhunting, archery, and the CBA.
- Educational clinics and seminars.
- Literary contributions.
- Programs or events developed or involved in.
- Leadership abilities and special accomplishments.
- Evidence of commitment and accomplishment.
- Supporting memberships in bowhunting, archery, wildlife and conservation organizations.
- Office held within the CBA and other bowhunting, archery, wildlife and conservation organizations.
- Sportsmanship and personality.
- Dedication to bowhunting responsibilities.
  - o Conduct afield
  - Peer respect
  - Number of years bowhunting
  - o Contributions to bowhunting outside Colorado
- Animals taken during bowhunting career.
  - Big-game animals taken in Colorado
  - o Big-game animals taken outside Colorado
  - Small-game animals taken
  - Game farm (exotics) that are not classified as protected game in the state taken will not be considered

As you can see, there are considerable criteria factored into the selection process for this once in a lifetime award. What follows is a compilation of our best and most dedicated bowhunters.

1974 – Marvin Clyncke	1997 – Mike Powell
1975 – Ted Grover	1998 – Dave Culter
1976 – Lee Kline	1999 – Dean Derby
1977 – Dave Zahn	2000 – Wayne Depperschmidt
1978 – Ron Breitsprecher	2001 – Dale Petefish
1979 – John Rhine	2002 – Rob Musser
1980 – Chuck Hutton	2003 – Grant Adkisson
1981 – Doy K. Curtis	2004 – Rod Washburn
1982 – Larry O. Baker	2005 – Jeff Lampe
1983 – Tony Seahorn	2006 – Mike Dziekan
1984 – Dave Buttermore	2007 – Troy Cunningham
1985 – Shari Fraker	2008 – Gary Renfro
1986 – David "Jake" Powell	2009 – Lyle Willmarth
1987 – Lloyd Wood	2010 – Paul Navarre
1988 – Terry Bridgeman	2011 – Brandon Powell
1989 – Barry J. Smith	2012 – Carol Ashurst
1990 – Dean Burke	2013 – Dennis Howell
1991 – Kurt Keskimaki	2014 – Roger Trudell
1992 – Mick Davis	2015 – Tom Behunin
1993 – Dennis Hansen	2016 – James Gilmore
1994 – Conrad Dreher	2017 –Byron Dean
1995 – Ron Rockwell	2018 – Todd Brickel
1996 – Bob Radocy	2019 – Rick Davis